[f] AMB on Facebook

SuSy dynahi v2

Kevin Gilmore's higher-powered version of the dynalo

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby mloutfie » June 8th, 2015, 1:42 pm

Thanks for all the info guys. Really helps. Now I know both bias value are possible. Jmc and DEFL what resistor value do you guys use next to the biasing trimpot? 500ohm or 680ohm?
mloutfie
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:50 am
Location: Melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby DEFL » June 8th, 2015, 2:54 pm

jmc wrote:R23 and R34 are 100r on the schematics but the onboard version has 50r on the silkscreen.

And so does offboard version.
http://gilmore.chem.northwestern.edu/bo ... hibal9.zip
Strange. If Kevin meant to say that 50Ohm will physically limit bias, then I don't know how I easily reached 0.75V (and more, if I wanted to).
DEFL
 
Posts: 175
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: August 2nd, 2013, 2:26 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Country: Russia (ru)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby DEFL » June 8th, 2015, 3:02 pm

mloutfie wrote:500ohm or 680ohm?

500Ohm.
DEFL
 
Posts: 175
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: August 2nd, 2013, 2:26 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Country: Russia (ru)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby jmc » June 8th, 2015, 3:23 pm

DEFL wrote:
jmc wrote:R23 and R34 are 100r on the schematics but the onboard version has 50r on the silkscreen.

And so does offboard version.
http://gilmore.chem.northwestern.edu/bo ... hibal9.zip
Strange. If Kevin meant to say that 50Ohm will physically limit bias, then I don't know how I easily reached 0.75V (and more, if I wanted to).


I honestly don't know if it phisically limit bias or whatever it does, my electronics knowledge isn't that good :)
I am just reporting what he told me after I had the same issue mloutfie is having.

I am not really sure but I think I used 680r.

edit: I checked the pictures and I did use 680r. Maybe that's why we couldn't raise the bias?
jmc
 
Posts: 29
Likes: 10 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: November 27th, 2012, 6:39 am
Location: Lisbon
Country: Portugal (pt)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby mloutfie » July 4th, 2015, 2:02 am

Finished fixing up my board today. But the best I can bias my board is 0.69v for + side and 0.71 for negative side. The offset without servo is 80mV and 10mV with servo. Is it good enough? Or I still need to get closer to 0.75v and get offset to 0? Any idea which part I need to change? Should I change the 500ohm resistor to something lower?
mloutfie
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:50 am
Location: Melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby amb » July 4th, 2015, 1:25 pm

I'll let others comment on the biasing, but a DC offset of 10mV is acceptable (if not great), but 80mV is too high.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10381
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby mloutfie » July 5th, 2015, 2:07 am

With the servo the offset still drift between 10-20mV is that still fine? I've tried using headphones on balanced the sound is great but on single ended the sound is sucked out especially the mids but strangely low end is fine
mloutfie
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:50 am
Location: Melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby amb » July 5th, 2015, 4:46 am

You might have a wiring problem -- reversed signal and ground somewhere?
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10381
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby mloutfie » July 5th, 2015, 1:04 pm

On single ended I wire signal and ground to + and - of the board. And on the wiring I wire only the signal part to the headphone jack. The ground I took direct from the source ground. Does that sound correct?
mloutfie
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 8 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:50 am
Location: Melbourne
Country: Australia (au)

Re: SuSy dynahi v2

Postby amb » July 5th, 2015, 8:27 pm

Mostly.

For unbalanced, the input RCA signal and ground should go to +In and ground, respectively. Then -in should be connected to ground too.

Also, while source ground is connected to the power supply ground via the board, you should connect the TRS jack ground (sleeve contact) directly to the power supply ground. You shouldn't let the headphone's return current current to go through the board's ground, thereby polluting it.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10381
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

PreviousNext

Return to dynahi headphone amplifier

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Quick Links

AMB audio DIY resources
AMB audio shop