[f] AMB on Facebook

Need Some Advice on Whether to Build This or Not

gamma1.5

Moderator: MisterX

Need Some Advice on Whether to Build This or Not

Postby Thorhian » September 25th, 2019, 5:24 pm

Hello AMB Forums!

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to higher end audio gear, and after some unhelpful replies on reddit I figured I'd ask you guys for some help. I'm currently thinking about getting a pair of AudioTechnica M50x's for my personal enjoyment and possibly to start messing with making some small pieces of electronic music later on. I know they can be driven with the standard DAC/Audio output of my desktop or even my phone, but I bet a DAC and headphone amp would be able to improve the audio quality of what I'm trying to listen to a good amount (but maybe I'm wrong with these headphones?). I do like doing DIY stuff, and I think I might be getting more soldering supplies soon so I looked around for a decent DIY DAC design and I found AMB. From what I've read here the Gamma 1.5 seems to be a really good DAC/amp, but what I'm wondering is if it is still good compared to other options I could buy in 2019 for around $100 or less? Some people were telling me to just buy a fiio DAC/amp, but nobody seems to have heard of AMB from what I could tell, plus I couldn't find much elsewhere about the y1.5. SMD soldering doesn't really scare me, I just need to practice a bit before starting the project (plus I might have a hot air station soon).

Is a dedicated DAC and headphone amp worth it for these headphones? If so, is the y1.5 suited for such headphones, or would that be total overkill or underkill? I'm sorry if I seem so green at this, but I don't know a ton about this "Hi-Fi/Audiophile" world. I would appreciate it a lot if anyone were willing and able to help me.
Thorhian

Liked in: 0 post

Re: Need Some Advice on Whether to Build This or Not

Postby amb » September 25th, 2019, 10:02 pm