[f] AMB on Facebook

My γ3 build, and adventures in DIY panelwork (long)

gamma3, gamma24 (plug-in for the γ3)

Postby Rabbit » February 10th, 2017, 9:28 pm

This is a recap - I have been working on my γ3 since May of 2016 or so. The photos below, and others, can be found here https://flic.kr/s/aHskDbfQwu

Ordering parts
I decided to go with the AMB reference build because I was overwhelmed with the amount of options. I had not fully wrapped my head around the expanse of this project when I decided to take on the project. As a result, I had to place a few different orders, including at least 3 at AMB's shop, as the build proceeded. This is, by far, the most complicated DIY project I've undertaken.

Many, many bags
I took my time to label all of the parts. I used a gallon ziploc for each board. I found this to work very well. Labeling the parts took a long time, but it was definitely worth it.

Populating the boards
The σ11/σ22 builds went smoothly. I did populate an extra resistor on the σ11s. I discovered it when my voltage was not correct. Had I paid more attention to the instructions, this would not have happened. I tend to get very excited and go nuts ordering everything on the BoM, and populating everything.

ImageIMG_9638.jpg by PScal, on Flickr

The γ3 and all its child boards took a bit longer to build. This was not my first encounter with surface mount soldering - I have built a γ2 and also enjoy making DIY LED flashlight drivers which use surface mount components. I recently bought a cheap hot air station, which earned its keep when I positioned not one, but both of the DAC chips crooked. I should have waited until I was fresh to work on the difficult chips, but it worked out in the end. Somehow, I nailed the SRC chip on the first try. I used solder wick and liquid flux to achieve my best results.

ImageIMG_9682.jpg by PScal, on Flickr

ImageIMG_9706.jpg by PScal, on Flickr

ImageIMG_9681.jpg by PScal, on Flickr