[f] AMB on Facebook

γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

gamma3, gamma24 (plug-in for the γ3)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby daniele86 » January 26th, 2017, 3:53 am

amb wrote:You can use a 3.3V source on the WaveIO board for this, or use the ZVDD_3V3a line on the γ3 board. Connect this to the WaveIO's V+ line and γ3's ZVDD_3V3b. This sets the logic level to 3.3V between the isolated I2S output of the WaveIO and the isolated I2S input on the γ3.


Thanks for the explanation!

But I think that I haven't on γ3 board the 3,3V of the ZVDD_3V3a line without z1 module installed. I'm going to use 5V of y3 that is free at pin 28 of z1 pin interface (ZVDD5_0).

I read both datasheet of the two isolator and both can accept 5V supply.
daniele86
 
Posts: 164
Likes: 13 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 11:53 pm
Country: Italy (it)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby amb » January 26th, 2017, 4:22 am

Ah yes. ZVDD_3V3a will have voltage on it only if the ζ1 is plugged in, because it's supplied by the TPS73633 LDO regulator on the ζ1.

You can use ZVDD_5V0. It's basically LVDD after the load switch U20. It's turned on with an anti-rush characteristic when you power up the system.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10378
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby daniele86 » January 26th, 2017, 5:22 am

Ok thank you.

I just tried! The same problem! :shock: I removed all other connections (rca input and output) so I didn't heard it, but in the LCDuino there is the sample rate only for few second, like before).
There is few possibilities that I made with this connection the same problem (in the first moment I exchanged LRCK with DATA, also the cable is not so short, 4"), but I don't think this.

I'm going to put my finger to one component.. U15.

Or..Is there some possibilites that SRC work with all input but no with i2s input?

What do you think about it?
daniele86
 
Posts: 164
Likes: 13 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 11:53 pm
Country: Italy (it)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby amb » January 26th, 2017, 5:30 am

It's possible that U15 is bad, it would be easy to determine if you had an oscilloscope to look at the waveforms on the input and output sides. It is also possible for the SRC4392 to have a problem with its serial port B (which is used as I2S input from the ζ1) while its DIR section (for S/PDIF or AES/EBU) works fine.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10378
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby daniele86 » January 26th, 2017, 6:49 am

So I really need an oscilloscope. It's time to buy it! ;)

It could be nice if there is a section on the y3 site, called like "Diagnostic" that collect all of these experience, the problem and how we solve it, and some points like these:

- If the system works with S/PDIF (coaxial or optical) sources then it's unlikely to be any problem on the γ24, except the I2S lines from the ζ1 to the γ24, including the digital isolator U15.
- You should get about 3.3V at the VREF test point (relative to IG) when power is on. If this is ok, then U16 is good.
- If you get 5V (relatve to G) at ζ1's ZVDD_5V0, then U20 is good.
- Measure the voltage at γ3 U17 pin 4. It should be 3.3V when playing 44.1KHz (or multiple of that) program material, or 0V when playing 48KHz (or multiple). If that's true, then U17 is good.
- It's a bit difficult to test γ3 U18 unless you have a oscilloscope. The output should be half the frequency of the input (i.e., if input is 22.8792MHz then output should be 11.4396MHz. If the input is 24.586MHz then the output should be 12.288MHz).
- If you're using TORX147PL and TOTX147PL optical receivers and transceiver, and if your jumper configuration is correct, then you should measure 3.3V at the VRXTX test point (relatve to IG). If this is ok, then γ3 U10 is good. If your optical inputs/outputs work, then this has to be true.
- γ3 Q1 and Q2 is only used for changing UAC mode, so if that appears to work then don't replace them.
daniele86
 
Posts: 164
Likes: 13 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 11:53 pm
Country: Italy (it)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby daniele86 » January 26th, 2017, 7:23 am

Ok, the last idea.

Because I have the WaveIO with isolator (IL715) can I connect it directly to the I2S pins on the board y24?

So I bypass U15, I can connect the GND and V + for WaveIO isolator (IL715) to IG and 3.3V of y24 ..
daniele86
 
Posts: 164
Likes: 13 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 11:53 pm
Country: Italy (it)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby amb » January 26th, 2017, 10:43 am

daniele86 wrote:It could be nice if there is a section on the y3 site, called like "Diagnostic" that collect all of these experience, the problem and how we solve it, and some points like these:
...

You just did it in this forum, which is why it exists! :)

Because I have the WaveIO with isolator (IL715) can I connect it directly to the I2S pins on the board y24?

So I bypass U15, I can connect the GND and V + for WaveIO isolator (IL715) to IG and 3.3V of y24 ..

Yes, you could do that. Remove γ3 U15, then use the γ24 board connector pins 3, 4, 5, (G_DATA, G_LRCK, G_SCLK), and one of its ground pins (IG). For the WaveIO's V+, tap it from VREF on the γ3 backplane (you can use pin 16 of the U15 pads).
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10378
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby daniele86 » January 27th, 2017, 2:20 pm

amb wrote:
daniele86 wrote:It could be nice if there is a section on the y3 site, called like "Diagnostic" that collect all of these experience, the problem and how we solve it, and some points like these:
...

You just did it in this forum, which is why it exists! :)

:)

amb wrote:Yes, you could do that. Remove γ3 U15, then use the γ24 board connector pins 3, 4, 5, (G_DATA, G_LRCK, G_SCLK), and one of its ground pins (IG). For the WaveIO's V+, tap it from VREF on the γ3 backplane (you can use pin 16 of the U15 pads).


Yust did it, with no result... :oops: What can I do now? is not U15.. how can I sure is not this "Try reflowing U12 and U13 on the backplane too. These are the I2S lines from the ζ1 to the γ24, and the DSD contriol line from the LCDuino-1 to the γ24 (not used at the moment, but should be logic "low")," ?
daniele86
 
Posts: 164
Likes: 13 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 11:53 pm
Country: Italy (it)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby amb » January 27th, 2017, 10:43 pm

The only thing left seems to be the SRC4392 chip.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10378
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: γ3 - Strange problem after 1 year of work

Postby daniele86 » February 18th, 2017, 9:35 am

amb wrote:The only thing left seems to be the SRC4392 chip.


One hour ago I replaced SRC4392 chip!

Now I'm listening music with my γ3 dac.... 8-) thank you Ti!


I also found that I didn't have galvanic isolation on the input, solving it, I also solved the problem (if you remember) that I had with potentiometer (sometime he turned sometime no).
Is it possible that this problem (unstable galvanic isolation) compromised the SRC chip?


Daniele
daniele86
 
Posts: 164
Likes: 13 posts
Liked in: 11 posts
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 11:53 pm
Country: Italy (it)

PreviousNext

Return to γ3 high resolution DAC and γ24 DAC core module

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Quick Links

AMB audio DIY resources
AMB audio shop