[f] AMB on Facebook

Epsilon12 in gamma3?

gamma3, gamma24 (plug-in for the γ3)

Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby Balcmeg » January 22nd, 2017, 9:16 pm

Ti,
Do you see any problem with equipping my G3 with an epsilon12 startup delay?
I'll need to equip it for 12V and leave out the DC- protection components, but that's ok. My main cause is that I get quite bad thump in the speakers if I turn on G3 after the power amp. Unfortunately e12 can't solve the thump I get when turning off, but guess I can't have all.

Unless the turn off thump originate from the caps in G3 psu, then it might disappear since the relay might cut faster?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
/Stefan
Balcmeg
 
Posts: 560
Likes: 24 posts
Liked in: 8 posts
Joined: September 6th, 2014, 6:54 pm
Location: Hong Kong
Country: Hong Kong (hk)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby amb » January 23rd, 2017, 12:03 am

Why not just develop the habit of turning off the power amp first, and turn it on last? Much simpler!
ANyway, yes, you can use ε12 solely for its muting delay. Yuo could wire it up to shut off quickly to prevent a turn-off thump too. But these require a 12V DC power supply that isn't there...
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10382
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby Balcmeg » January 23rd, 2017, 1:00 am

amb wrote:Why not just develop the habit of turning off the power amp first, and turn it on last? Much simpler!

Im not sure about that... and Im not the only user.

amb wrote:Anyway, yes, you can use ε12 solely for its muting delay. You could wire it up to shut off quickly to prevent a turn-off thump too. But these require a 12V DC power supply that isn't there...

Ah, I guess I should keep my dirty fingers dirty relay of the 15V analog supply...
/Stefan
Balcmeg
 
Posts: 560
Likes: 24 posts
Liked in: 8 posts
Joined: September 6th, 2014, 6:54 pm
Location: Hong Kong
Country: Hong Kong (hk)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby amb » January 23rd, 2017, 4:02 am

Balcmeg wrote:Ah, I guess I should keep my dirty fingers dirty relay of the 15V analog supply...

While a relay coil is not normally considered a "dirty" load, it does produce a large electromagnetic spike on the rail while switching. It may or may not cause anything audible.

Relays are relatively high current loads so it should be taken into consideration when adding that to an existing power supply. The relay coil current is found on the relay's datasheet.

In your use case, you should build the ε12 in the single supply, non virtual ground configuration (as documented at the ε12 website "instructions" section), change D1 to a 9.1V zener, and use the Omron G5V-2-H1-DC9, G6A-234P-ST15-US-DC9, G6A-274P-ST15-US-DC9, Fujitsu Tamikasawa RY-9W-K, RA-9W-K or Tyco C93405 relay. With this setup you can power the ε12 from AVDD (+10v).
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10382
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby Balcmeg » January 23rd, 2017, 6:18 am

amb wrote:
Balcmeg wrote:Ah, I guess I should keep my dirty fingers dirty relay of the 15V analog supply...

While a relay coil is not normally considered a "dirty" load, it does produce a large electromagnetic spike on the rail while switching. It may or may not cause anything audible.

Relays are relatively high current loads so it should be taken into consideration when adding that to an existing power supply. The relay coil current is found on the relay's datasheet.

In your use case, you should build the ε12 in the single supply, non virtual ground configuration (as documented at the ε12 website "instructions" section), change D1 to a 9.1V zener, and use the Omron G5V-2-H1-DC9, G6A-234P-ST15-US-DC9, G6A-274P-ST15-US-DC9, Fujitsu Tamikasawa RY-9W-K, RA-9W-K or Tyco C93405 relay. With this setup you can power the ε12 from AVDD (+10v).


Might as well make a try.

Right now Im using a 2x15V/15VA trafo for AVDD, Omron specify ca 17mA coil current and while i dont remember exactly how much you specified for alpha24 i think there should be quite enough even for two e12 (if i want to setup to switch the balanced signal)
/Stefan
Balcmeg
 
Posts: 560
Likes: 24 posts
Liked in: 8 posts
Joined: September 6th, 2014, 6:54 pm
Location: Hong Kong
Country: Hong Kong (hk)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby amb » January 23rd, 2017, 1:21 pm

The α24s draw about 30mA each. The AVDD line is also used to provide analog power for the WM8741s on the γ24 (with local ADM7150-5 local voltage regulators, and draws about 110mA.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10382
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby Balcmeg » January 24th, 2017, 3:01 am

amb wrote:The α24s draw about 30mA each. The AVDD line is also used to provide analog power for the WM8741s on the γ24 (with local ADM7150-5 local voltage regulators, and draws about 110mA.


That makes it 30+110+17+157mA per channel, my 15V trafo is marked 0,67mA for each winding so there should be enough overhead. Worst case Ill get a bigger trafo - or in the case that epsilon12wont help I can just remove it ;). Trial and error, trial and error - then hopefully at some point there will be atrial without error...
/Stefan
Balcmeg
 
Posts: 560
Likes: 24 posts
Liked in: 8 posts
Joined: September 6th, 2014, 6:54 pm
Location: Hong Kong
Country: Hong Kong (hk)

Re: Epsilon12 in gamma3?

Postby amb » January 24th, 2017, 9:30 am

The 110mA figure is for both channels.
User avatar
amb
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10382
Likes: 175 posts
Liked in: 482 posts
Joined: March 29th, 2010, 9:49 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Country: United States (us)


Return to γ3 high resolution DAC and γ24 DAC core module

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Quick Links

AMB audio DIY resources
AMB audio shop