[f] AMB on Facebook

β22 Repair Help

beta22

β22 Repair Help

Postby crosensteel » May 29th, 2019, 7:26 pm

Hi all,

I bought a β22 off of eBay a while back and after a few months I started to notice a humming noise. Earlier today, I opened it up to see if there was anything obviously wrong. I don't know anything about electronics, but I tried to see if there were loose wires or something.

Big mistake... after a couple tries of opening the case up, checking that wires are firmly attached and that kind of thing, it stopped powering on.

So, I am obviously pretty incompetent, but I'd still like to have my amplifier. I'd also like to not die of electric shock if possible. I was wondering if anyone could guide me through even the initial process of diagnosing/safety for an absolute beginner, or failing that does anyone know if there are any people that repair these professionally?

Thanks very much for reading.

Best,
Cameron
crosensteel

Liked in: 0 post

Re: β22 Repair Help

Postby amb » May 30th, 2019, 1:32 am

First, did you check the fuse? I hope there is one. Do you know who built the amp?

Please post some photos of your amp, including some close-ups of the internals with the boards and wiring, so we could assess the basics.
amb
Site Admin

Liked in: 482 posts

Postby crosensteel » May 31st, 2019, 8:14 pm

Thank you for the reply!

I created an album of pictures here:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/ShG9wgjd7X4fzdVh6

Please let me know if you need any other or more detailed pictures... I am not really sure what the most important parts are.

I hadn't checked the fuse before, but I just popped it out and it looks bad. There is a picture of it in the album.
Also, the IEC socket was loose and I attempted to glue it in place with E6000 glue.

According to the eBay listing, "The amp was professionally built by head-fi user ShinyFalcon."
crosensteel

Postby amb » June 1st, 2019, 2:12 pm

Did you replace the fuse to see if the amp would power up?