[f] AMB on Facebook

A handful of noob questions

sigma25, sigma26, sigma24

A handful of noob questions

Postby ohshitgorillas » July 21st, 2015, 11:44 am

Hello,

As my first AMB project, I plan on building a sigma25 power supply for my gamma2 DAC (which I traded for, but am extremely impressed with, and is currently running off of a wall wart that is a subtle improvement over USB power). But I'm a noob to electronics in general... like I'm still reading and learning about some of the basic concepts... and I have a bunch of what are probably stupid questions.

Note that this isn't my first DIY project, I've successfully built a Bottlehead Crack with Speedball.

• I want to use an epsilon24-controlled power button on the front. In order to power both the sigma25 and the epsilon24, I can use the same transformer/sigma24 right? (proper transformer selection is still something I struggle with)
  • Where does one get/make a suitable short cable for transferring power from the sigma25 to the gamma2? The two will be stacked on top of one another, so anything over six inches will probably be overkill. Which also reminds me....
  • I don't see a "recommended case" for the sigma24, but I'm wondering what/where to look for in cases that are at least the same width/depth as the gamma2? I realize it will probably be taller than the gamma2 itself.
  • I also want to mount a USB-powered USB to coaxial converter inside the box. Do the quality of these converters vary, or is it one of those "it's a digital signal, it's fine" kind of things. Anything in particular I should look for in a converter?