Share |

Dynahi: The AMB way

Kevin Gilmore's higher-powered version of the dynalo

Dynahi: The AMB way

Postby mattcalf » June 12th, 2010, 7:33 am

Ti has recently taken stock of the Kevin Gilmore Dynalo/hi series and as a future Dynahi builder I have been doing a bit of research. Which led me to stumble across Ti's altered schematic for the Dynahi and figured I'd post it and the justifications that he gives for it (that I can find). Also, this thread can hopefully serve as a general thread for any future builders. I know I'll have a few queries!

For Ti's original build, photos, measurements and specs go here.
His schematic can be accessed here.

The are a number of modifications to the original schematic:
  • Parallel a 680R resistor and 10k Trimpots to adjust bias and offset, you should pre-set the trimpots such that you measure 500R across them after installing it on the board, along with the 620R or 680R resistor. This would then be the initial power-up setting. (setup procedure using them here)
  • A 475 ohm resistor in series with the wiper to the amp board to buffer the board a bit from being shorted completely to ground (volume pot minimum condition) or connected directly to the output stage of the source (volume pot maximum condition).
  • Optional (well it's all optional I guess, but this one especially?): Reducing the gain to 7 by changing the global feedback resistors to 1.21KΩ and 200Ω (from 2KΩ and 100Ω) and increasing the feedback compensation cap value from the suggested 33pF.
  • Substitute the OP27 for a OPA134PA as it offers much lower DC offset.
  • Kevin's schematic showed no input resistor to ground, but the board is laid out for a 10K resistor. If you have a <100K volume pot wired up at the input, then 10K is too low a value. Anywhere from 10K to 1M is more "the norm" for a JFET input amp.